Guanajuato, Mexico

A year ago today, I landed in the photograph above.

Guanajuato remains one of the loveliest cities I’ve ever visited. Before Edinburgh (also) swept me off my supinated feet, I loved Guanajuato, first. It’s difficult to put into words what makes this place so special – the history, the architecture, the colors, the cobbled roads, the tunnels, the alleyways, or callejones, the lights, the stairs of El Teatro Juarez, Diego, the plazas, the views, that one man who sat on the curb singing old, American rock songs to the tune of his guitar as I walked to and from class every day. There is life in Guanajuato, and I agree with Tony that there is something magical about this city.

The view from my host family's home.
The view from my host family’s home.
Tortillas accompany every meal.
Tortillas accompany every meal.

Mezcal, in all its creative flavors.
Mezcal in all its creative flavors.

5 thoughts on “Guanajuato, Mexico

Leave a Reply

